charles-deluvio-leqrylJNYUQ-unsplash

How To

How To Deactivate A Google or YouTube Account When Someone Dies

Aug-18 2020

Do you need to deactivate your deceased loved one’s Google Account? Here’s everything you need to know!  

Google Deactivation Options: If the Google account owner dies, you only have the option of: 

Deleting the account completely. Although before the account is deleted you may be able to extract funds or specific account content if applicable. All of these options are only available once you submit a request for deletion to Google. Also note that if you need to extract anything from the account you will need to automatically follow the steps below for “How to Delete A Google Account (WITHOUT PASSWORD)”. Lastly as Youtube is owned by Google, when submitting a request for deletion, you will have the option to include deletion of the Youtube account as well. 

Required Information

  • User’s full name and email

  • Your full name and email

  • Official date of death

  • Copy of your ID or Driver’s License

  • Copy of death certificate

How to Delete A Google Account (WITHOUT PASSWORD):

  1. Access the Google Support page in order to submit a request for deletion

  2. Prepare and fill-in the following Required Information – note: If the documents are not in English, please provide a certified, notarized English translation prepared by a professional translator.

  3. Remember to select whether you’d like Google, Youtube or both deleted

  4. Send in your request

*Note that within this same Google Support page, within the highlighted “What would you like to do?” section, you can change the action you’d like to take. You have the following options on this page:

  • Close the account of a deceased user

  • Submit a request for funds from a deceased user's account

  • Obtain data from a deceased user's account 

*Note that Google has an Inactive Account Manager setting in which you can set up a plan for how your Google account and corresponding data will be handled if and when you are unable to use your Google Account any longer. Learn More

How to Delete A Facebook Account (WITH PASSWORD):

  1. Log in to Google with your email and password

  2. Visit your profile page by clicking on your photos

  3. Under the Data & Personalization tab scroll down to the “Download, delete, or make a plan for your data”’ section where there is a link to "Delete Your Account"

  4. Log in to your account again

  5. Read through information about account deletion

  6. Check the boxes and select the “Delete the account” button 

Need help? GoodTrust is a trusted expert in managing digital legacy and our experienced team knows exactly how to help you quickly delete, memorialize or extract content from sites like these. If you sign-up now we’ll even close down or memorialize Facebook for free! 

Do you want to solve it today?

© 2021 All rights reserved.
For YouFor Someone ElseFor BusinessesAbout usArticlesSecurity
contact@mygoodtrust.comGoodTrust, Inc.
555 Bryant Street,
Palo Alto, CA 94301