Facebook Image

Sites

How To Deactivate A Facebook Account When Someone Dies (With or Without Password)

Oct-01 2020

Do you need to deactivate your deceased loved one’s Facebook Account? Here’s everything you need to know!  

Facebook Deactivation Options: If the Facebook account owner dies, you have the option of: 

Deleting the account completely OR 

Memorializing the account, which allows friends and family to still view photos, videos and other memories but does not allow the account to be logged into, therefore securing the account from identity theft or data extraction. But, please be aware that Facebook does have a legacy contact option where a user can list a family member or friend to have access to their account after they are deceased. If this legacy contact is not you or the user did not have a legacy contact, this may hinder your ability to access the memorialized account after it’s been memorialized or REMOVE the account. If you are not the legacy contact or there isn’t one, the account can ONLY be memorialized, not removed. To find more information on this, visit the Facebook Help page on memorialization.

Required Information

  • User’s full name and email

  • Official date of death

  • Documentation of death (Ex. obituary, death certificate, memorial card, etc.)

  • To DELETE the account, if you don’t have the death certificate you’ll need a proof of authority such as power of attorney, birth certificate, last will and testament, or estate letter.

  • Your full name and email

How to Memorialize A Facebook Account:

  1. Access this Facebook Help page in order to submit a request for Memorialization

  2. Prepare and fill-in the following Required Information

  3. Send in your request

*Note that due to coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, memorialization and account removal requests may take more time to process than usual.

How to Delete A Facebook Account (WITHOUT PASSWORD):

  1. Access this Facebook Help page in order to submit a request to delete the account

  2. Prepare and fill-in the following Required Information

  3. Send in your request

*Note that according to Facebook, “Only the legacy contact can request profile removal. The profile can [only] be reported for memorialization and will remain memorialized (unless the legacy contact requests removal)”.

How to Delete A Facebook Account (WITH PASSWORD):

  1. Log in to Facebook with the your email and password

  2. Visit the company’s “Delete My Account” page

  3. Click the “Delete My Account” button 

Need help? GoodTrust is a trusted expert in managing digital legacy and our experienced team knows exactly how to help you quickly delete, memorialize or extract content from sites like these. If you sign-up now we’ll even close down or memorialize Facebook for free! 

Do you want to solve it today?

© 2021 All rights reserved.

For YouFor Someone ElseFor BusinessesAbout usArticlesSecurity
contact@mygoodtrust.com

GoodTrust, Inc.
555 Bryant Street,
Palo Alto, CA 94301